Week One: a whole lot of carbs…and mozzarella…

Tomato Mozzarella Sandwich

IMG_0605

This is used with bread that is four points (sad), fresh mozzarella, tomatoes and shredded chicken breast. This was one of my favorite meals in SO LONG. I also made brussel sprouts by halving them, coating them with a little oil and then topping with garlic, pepper and a little shredded mozzarella cheese. The cheese was so crispy and DELICIOUS. To make it a little more health conscious, use the fat free kraft shredded mozzarella for zero weight watcher points. This sandwich was heaven on earth, and using the right ingredients, could be your dirty healthy little secret.

 

Wonton Bowl

img_0607.jpg

I was very nervous about this recipe, but I ended up loving! I modified it quite a bit, but you can really use whatever you want! This is the original recipe:

Screen Shot 2018-01-28 at 6.03.45 PM

https://theforkedspoon.com/2017/1/29/ginger-garlic-noodle-soup-with-bok-choy/

I am not a huge mushroom fan, and with most labels and words on packaging being in French or Dutch, I just kind of have to wing it. I used chicken stock, pre-packaged asian mix of cabbage, corn, bok choy etc, soy sauce, garlic, rice noodles and next time, I will most likely sneak in some more protein. It was GREAT! I think it needed a bit more seasoning, but if you follow the original recipe with using sesame seeds, crushed red pepper and ginger it will be a perfect combination! As of weight watcher point wise, the only points you need to count are the chicken stock and the rice noodles. It only ended up being 6 points and it was really filling.

 

Chicken Caprese Pasta

IMG_0611

(Sorry about the not-so-awesome photo, I kind of ate it first without taking a photo so these are the leftovers).

Although this dish ended up being a little higher in points than I would have liked, it can definitely be prevented. For 1/8th of the recipe, it came out to be 7 points, but with using the fat free mozzarella cheese, it would be cut in HALF. It was a “dump and bake” recipe, and it was really just as simple as that. I took the pasta, chicken stock, chicken, tomatoes and cheese, mixed it together, dumped it in the pan and waited 50 minutes and my dinner was done. It was so good and so easy! Here is the original recipe:

https://www.theseasonedmom.com/dump-bake-chicken-caprese-pasta/

Pita Pizza

img_0612.jpg

 

So, this is not a new recipe but one of my go-tos when things get busy: the magical pita pizza. It is my comfort food, it is delicious and you can make it however you want! If you use wheat pitas, the fat free mozzarella and veggies to top it, the points will be ridiculously low.

 

Chicken Sandwich – Betty Blue

IMG_0507

This past weekend, some of my friends and I went to Amsterdam and I worked really hard to make sure I was still being health-concious (even though, the Nutella covered waffle would prove otherwise). We went to a restaurant named Betty Blues and I got a chicken sandwich. IT WAS THE BEST SANDWICH I HAVE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE. It was an open face sandwich with wheat bread on the bottom, shredded smoked chicken, salad mix, pine nuts and this beautiful dressing called truffle aioli. It was a great meal to have while being out and not wanting to be TOO strict on the diet, but it was the best meal and I dreamed of it the rest of the day.

 

Mikado Chocolate Sticks – sweet tooth life saver

112794011_0_640x640.jpg

Being in a country that is known for their chocolate, it is hard not to pass up the sweets. I found these little sticks in the grocery store, and it ended up being a great alternative to indulge in that sweet-tooth. You can have three of them for ONE POINT. They are not that small either. I do have to admit, it was hard to only have three and not eat the whole box, but it was a great alternative.

Leave a comment